Achievement Awards 2018

This years' annual Achievement Awards will be held on the 9 November 2018 at Venue Cymru, Llandudno. This promises to be a fun filled evening celebrating success and the best of Betsi!


For other Health Board colleagues who wish to attend this fantastic occasion, tickets will be available later on this year: 

Below is the list of finalists for the 2018 Achievement Awards: 

Welsh Language

Emma Owen and Morfa Ward, Ysbyty Alltwen


Emma Cunnah-Newell, Children's Ward, Wrexham Maelor Hospital

Yankier Pigeria Perez, Pharmacy, Ysbyty Gwynedd



Advancing Equality

Project SEARCH, Workforce and Organisational Development

Equality Team, Workforce and Organisational Development

Jack Jackson, Team Leader Mental Health/ Occupational Health

Team of the Year

Abergele District Nurses

The Bone Densitomery Unit, Llandudno Hospital 

Conwy Care Home Multi-professional Response Team

Improving Patient Experience

Luke Hughes, Blood Sciences, Ysbyty Glan Clwyd

Rebecca McConnell, Famau Ward, Denbigh Infirmary

Greg Bloor, Portering Services, Glan Clwyd Hospital 

Outstanding Voluntary Contribution 

Robin Volunteers

Blood Bikes North West Wales

Clare Brown from The Lauren Brown Fund 

Excellence in Leadership 

Dr Karen Mottart. Hospital Medical Director, Ysbyty Gwynedd

Marc McMorran,  Deep Clean Team, Ysbyty Gwynedd

Barry Starmer, Substance Misuse Service, Conwy 

Working in Partnership 

Inquest Team, Corporate Services, Glan Clwyd Hospital 

Outpatient Department Team, Dolgellau 

New Ways of Working 

Leyla Usta, Pharmacy, Wrexham Maelor Hospital 

Prof. Stephen F Hughes, Prof. Iqbal Shergill and Dr Lynne Grundy,

North Wales Clinical Research

Sharon Kershaw, ATU, Mold Community Hospital 

Clinical Teacher of the Year

Katherine White, Pharmacy Wrexham Maelor Hospital

Juliet Clutton, Trauma and Orthopaedics, Glan Clwyd Hospital 

Dr Michaela Swales, North Wales Clinical Psychology,

University of Bangor

Community Care Hub, Mental Health, Wrexham Maelor Hospital

Jilly Wilcox-Jones

Helen Rogerson, Ablett Unit, Glan Clwyd Hospital 

Sarah Chalk, Deputy Ward Manager, Ablett Unit, Glan Clwyd Hospital

Joe Lewis, Dinas Ward, Ablett Unit, Glan Clwyd Hospital